October 10, 2012

Welcome to Dreamland

Posted in Journey tagged , at 1:20 pm by Reva

To be honest I’ve thought about starting a blog for years.  I’ve even tried (and failed) a few times.  I mean, who wants to hear (read) about my boring life.  Well I’ve decided – no one if they don’t want to.  I’ve decided to do this for me.  Call it therapy.  Living with ME/CFS (or whatever you want to call it, but that’s my official diagnosis) has made it hard for me to recall things and I think this is a way I can look back on all the things I manage to do in spite of my condition.

Ironically I start this amidst a big crash.  I’ve been on the couch for 3 1/2 days now.  The brainfog cleared at about midday yesterday which is good but if I stand for long I get really out of breath. So this morning after washing my hair, and climbing a set of stairs to the doctors I sat trying to catch my breath. And stop jitteriness. I know I probably should have used the lift but there’s something in me that still stops me doing things like that I guess I still have hang ups about what people think – the young slightly overweight woman would be better to use the stairs right? She’s just lazy using the lift? Ah the fun of an invisible illness.

I consider myself lucky, as this is a rarity for me.  While I’m constantly pacing myself and having couch days I can usually manage to work (albeit part time) and manage a home of my own.  It’s days like this that I am a) grateful that this is not my normal as I know that there are others who would consider what I’m experiencing a good day and b) in need of some reminders of what I am capable.

And so it begins…

2 Comments »

  1. Al said,

    Love it….I’ll be reading it x


Leave a Reply

