October 14, 2012

Mocha Macadamia Nut Slice

Posted in Food tagged , at 2:41 pm by Reva

When I’ve had a run of bad days I like to use some of my rationed energy to do something I really want to do.   I know that while the washing, weeding, dishes all need to be done, for my sanity all those things can wait.  I need to do something I want to do.

So yesterday instead of working through my list (more on that another day) I baked.  What I really wanted to make was miniature chocolate cupcakes with chocolate butter cream icing but that damn sensible voice in my head said no – too draining.  And then I remembered the slice I planned to make last weekend.

This slice turned out to be a perfect choice for yesterday because:

  1. I had all the ingredients so no need to use energy going to the supermarket
  2. The recipe had several steps that required cooling which meant I could sit down for a long rest at intervals without worrying about things turning bad.
  3. None of the steps took long so if I needed to rest at any time I could.

There are a few things I could do to make it even easier next time.  I could chop the nuts, chocolate and caramel ahead of time. And the slice base was hard to spread.  If I made this on a particularly bad day again I’d probably rest before this step, and if possible get someone else to cut it. But overall easy peasy!

And in case you’re interested, find the recipe here

Leave a Reply

