February 9, 2013

Stuff

Posted in ME/CFS tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 11:35 am by Reva

So much has been happening in the last week or so, and I’ve had so few spoons left to write about it all; but I have a week off!  When I scheduled this week off (it was the next available week when I realised I desperately needed a week off just before Christmas) I planned to head interstate to catch up with my closest friends.  When I got sick at home at Christmas time I decided to return home for part of the week instead, to catch up with the friends I usually meet up with at Christmas and missed out on because I was sick.  Now, 6 weeks on, it has turned into “I’m going to hang around my house and do stuff”. 

By “stuff” I mean things like put away the washing.  For the past four weeks I’ve been living out of my washing basket (clean washing – I at least manage to clean it).  When I can’t find what I need in the washing basket I go to my dryer, which has the most recent clean washing in it.  The dryer gets emptied only when I’ve completely run out of enough clean clothing (or I can’t find it) to dress in an acceptable way to go to work and I have to do another load of washing.  This system has been working for me.  It’s let me get away with doing a few things that I probably wouldn’t have managed had I stuck with previous systems.  For a while I felt a little guilty about using my dryer when the weather has been so warm and the washing would have dried in half the time out in the sun but I got over it.  But my goal for today was to hang the washing on the line, and I’ve done it!  I’ve also emptied the clean washing basket and folded the washing.  AND I’ve taken the washing out of the dryer and folded it.  It’s all on my bed but it is closer to being put away than it’s been for weeks.

More “stuff” I plan to do is to go to Ikea and buy a set of drawers I’ve planned to buy for the past 4 years.  Yes, that’s right, 4 years.  Ikea is a 2 hour drive and there is no way I’m going to Ikea on a weekend so I haven’t managed to get there when I’ve felt up to driving that far for just a set of drawers.  I’ve decided that under the current circumstances doing a return trip in one day would be ridiculous so I’m turning it into a holiday.  I’m staying in a hotel about 10 minutes away, right near a friend, and catching up with a few friends for a casual dinner at one of their homes.  It means that I can stick to my new morning routine (which I’m still perfecting but will write about soon), miss the morning traffic, buy my drawers and be back at the hotel before afternoon traffic and have a good nap before dinner.  Then make my way home the next day as quickly or slowly as I feel (I’m picturing a leisurely brunch in the sun but we’ll see how that pans out).

I also have a heap of phone calls I need to make (somehow my brain can only cope with one a day of those so they tend to build up), baskets of stuff to put away (does anyone else tidy the house by sticking everything in a basket to “put away later”? I think I’m up to three baskets) and other general day-to-day stuff that seems to have crept up on me.  The best thing about all this “stuff” is that it’s been waiting so long to be done I really am not worried if I don’t get it done.  No pressure. 

What I’m really looking forward to is sewing my quilts and even if the other “stuff” doesn’t get done I plan to do some sewing and writing every day.

2 Comments »

  1. All week I’ve wanted to sit down and watch a movie. Just a movie, uninterrupted. A comedy, to help me “check out” for a while. And nope….still haven’t done it yet!

  2. jackiewriting said,

    I have lists of lists of ‘stuff’ that needs doing..


Leave a Reply

